Campus news: lists of summer deans and graduates; scholarship recipients and distinctions


Summer 2021 Dean’s List

Buena Vista University – Byron: Kyia Fleig.

Summer 2021 graduates

Buena Vista University – Rochester: Troy Finnegan.

University of North Dakota – Rochester: Amber Feind, Morgan Ashton, Chanda Ream.

Upper Iowa University – Stewartville: Broden Herman.


The Stout University Foundation awarded the following scholarships to the following University of Wisconsin-Stout students: Joshua Belden Austin – the Philip H. McGuirk Fellowship in Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management and the Toby J. Landgraf Endowed Fellowship; Addison braun Rochester – the Dr. Richard T. and Nancy P. Cheng Computer Science Renewable Endowed Fellowship and the Wisconsin License Plate Fellowship; Lindsey Fick from Lake City – the Nancy and Ralph Iverson Stock Exchange; Aaron Hoff de Mantorville – the Robert F. Cervenka-AnnMarie Foundation scholarship; Allison keller de Goodhue – the Clara Jahn Lubs and Mary Lubs Thomsen Endowment Scholarship and the Margaret Pennington Swanson Scholarship; Catherine keller de Goodhue – the Steiner / Milnes scholarship; Chloe Kom from Rochester – the Clara Jahn Lubs and Mary Lubs Thomsen Fellowship, the Dorothy Z. Bergman Fellowship and the Lida Jamison Fellowship; Carson Larrabee from Wykoff – the Donald C. Beran Endowment Scholarship, the Fulton and Edna Holtby Endowment Scholarship, and the James and Dianne Lorenz Endowment Scholarship; Quincy Muzik Austin – the Reinhold and Borghild Eng Dahlgren Scholarship; Jeremy o’connor from Preston – the Stout Scholars Award; Benjamin prigge of Red Wing – the Helen and Alfred Siever Endowment Scholarship; Madelyn Reiland de Rochester – the Arthur M. Nakatani Scholarship, the Kara Gilbertson Scholarship and the Violette Parsons Weeks Scholarship.


The Distinguished Service Award of Luther College for 2021 has been awarded to an alumnus Lee afdahl (’71) from Rochester, Denise (Danielson) (’77) and Michel bernatz (’76) by Winona, and Kathy maclaughlin of Rochester (’91).

Afdahl was Music Director of First Presbyterian Church for 28 years – he retired in 2019. He is a past president of the Handbell Musicians of America, has over 100 compositions and arrangements in print, and continues to volunteer for the ‘American Guild of Organists, Choristers Guild, Handbell Musicians of America and Rochester Music Guild.

Denise and Michael Bernatz met at Luther College and have served the community as members of the Central Lutheran Church for over 40 years. Michael works full time as a lawyer and sits on the Foundation Board. Denise works full time as a sports medicine rehabilitation technician and sits on the Refugee Resettlement Committee. Both served Winona Public Schools and opened their homes to exchange students through the Winona Rotary Club.

Dr MacLaughlin is Associate Professor of Family Medicine at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science and a Research Fellow in Population Health Sciences at the Kern Center for the Science of Health Care Delivery at the Mayo Clinic. She was part of a national task force to update cervical cancer screening recommendations for immunocompromised women due to her work in Mayo and with the CDC for screening and managing the Cervical cancer. She received the 2021 MAFP Research and Innovation Award from the Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.